A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ROB

Thu, 18 Aug '22
Take the wrong way?
Wed, 22 Jun '22
Burgle
Wed, 20 Apr '22
Hold up
Wed, 9 Feb '22
Burglarize
Mon, 20 Dec '21
Burgle
Thu, 16 Dec '21
Seriously shortchange
Wed, 23 Jun '21
Stick up
Wed, 14 Apr '21
Apt name for a thief
Tue, 30 Mar '21
Hold up
Sun, 7 Mar '21
Knock over, so to speak
Sun, 3 Jan '21
Way overcharge, so to speak