A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

CHI

Wed, 14 Sep '22
Midwestern metropolis, informally
Sun, 4 Sep '22
X
Thu, 21 Jul '22
N.L. Central team, on scoreboards
Mon, 28 Feb '22
Ho ___ Minh City
Tue, 8 Feb '22
___-Town (Windy City)
Fri, 25 Jun '21
X
Sun, 9 May '21
X
Tue, 27 Apr '21
Second letter before omega
Sun, 7 Mar '21
Life force, in China
Wed, 20 Jan '21
___-Town (Midwest hub)