A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

STEP

Sat, 7 May '22
Family prefix
Fri, 29 Apr '22
Repeated cry in aerobics
Wed, 2 Mar '22
Dance element
Thu, 17 Feb '22
Put one's foot down
Tue, 1 Feb '22
Bit of a dance
Mon, 11 Oct '21
Any rung on a ladder
Wed, 7 Jul '21
Algorithm part
Fri, 4 Jun '21
Manual part
Sat, 24 Apr '21
Bit recorded on a Fitbit
Mon, 12 Apr '21
Ladder rung
Wed, 24 Feb '21
Part of a wikiHow article
Mon, 15 Feb '21
Part of a stairway
Mon, 4 Jan '21
Part of an assembly instruction