A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

DYE

Tue, 25 Oct '22
Henna, e.g.
Fri, 14 Oct '22
Wigmaker's supply
Mon, 10 Oct '22
Paintball filler
Thu, 22 Sep '22
Henna, for one
Sat, 10 Sep '22
What gray is usually not
Fri, 12 Aug '22
Curl Up and ___ (punnily named hair salon)
Mon, 25 Jul '22
Work on, as a summer camp T-shirt
Wed, 4 May '22
Turn red, maybe
Mon, 2 May '22
Easter egg colorer
Tue, 29 Jun '21
Batik, e.g.
Sun, 25 Apr '21
Turn red, say
Sun, 21 Mar '21
Recolor
Mon, 25 Jan '21
Cover gray, perhaps
Fri, 22 Jan '21
Do or ___ (punny hair salon name)
Mon, 11 Jan '21
Easter egg colorer