A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ERG

Fri, 14 Jun '24
Gym machine for rowing exercises, informally
Thu, 9 May '24
What a piece of work!
Mon, 27 Nov '23
Energy unit
Sun, 5 Mar '23
Tiny bit of work
Mon, 26 Sep '22
Unit of work
Sat, 9 Jul '22
Indoor rowing machine, in brief
Sun, 6 Mar '22
Rowing machine, informally
Fri, 14 Jan '22
Bit of work
Tue, 29 Jun '21
Part of a joule
Sat, 2 Jan '21
Bit of work
Mon, 28 Dec '20
Tiny bit of work