A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EARL

Tue, 21 Jun '22
Countess's counterpart
Mon, 30 May '22
___ Grey (variety of 2-Down)
Mon, 16 May '22
___ Grey tea
Tue, 1 Mar '22
___ Grey tea
Fri, 10 Dec '21
Noble title
Thu, 11 Nov '21
Noble title
Tue, 29 Jun '21
"Downton Abbey" title
Sun, 27 Jun '21
___ Simmons, real name of the late rapper DMX
Thu, 3 Jun '21
Title on "Downton Abbey"
Tue, 20 Apr '21
British noble
Fri, 5 Feb '21
Actor James ___ Jones