A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ANT

Sun, 7 Nov '21
Symbol of industry
Sat, 30 Oct '21
Its larva is eaten as a delicacy in the Mexican dish escamoles
Thu, 28 Oct '21
___-Man
Sun, 17 Oct '21
Sight on an M. C. Escher Möbius strip
Mon, 11 Oct '21
Tiny builder of tunnels and hills
Mon, 13 Sep '21
Tiny hill dweller
Mon, 5 Jul '21
Insect that can carry up to 50 times its body weight
Tue, 1 Jun '21
Carpenter ___
Mon, 24 May '21
It might be confused with a termite
Sun, 9 May '21
Prey for a formicivorous creature
Sat, 1 May '21
Fire ___
Sun, 18 Apr '21
Echidna's prey
Fri, 9 Apr '21
Amazon ___
Sun, 4 Apr '21
Word with red or army
Tue, 9 Feb '21
Member of a colonial army?
Sun, 10 Jan '21
Carpenter ___