A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EMIT

Thu, 11 Nov '21
Send out
Mon, 11 Oct '21
Send off, as rays
Wed, 29 Sep '21
Give off
Wed, 25 Aug '21
Give off
Thu, 24 Jun '21
Release
Wed, 2 Jun '21
Discharge
Mon, 24 May '21
Send off, as rays
Tue, 30 Mar '21
Send out
Fri, 5 Feb '21
Send off
Sun, 10 Jan '21
Send forth
Sat, 9 Jan '21
Release