A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

HAL

Mon, 3 Jun '24
"I'm sorry, Dave" speaker of sci-fi
Thu, 21 Mar '24
Malcolm's dad on 2000s TV
Sat, 20 May '23
Sci-fi villain that Anthony Hopkins once said inspired his performance as Hannibal Lecter
Sun, 11 Dec '22
Young Henry V, to Falstaff
Mon, 5 Dec '22
Shakespearean prince
Mon, 29 Aug '22
Robotic villain in "2001: A Space Odyssey"
Tue, 14 Jun '22
"2001: A Space Odyssey" antagonist
Sat, 30 Oct '21
A.I. on Discovery One
Mon, 11 Oct '21
Rogue computer in "2001: A Space Odyssey"
Sun, 12 Sep '21
The future Henry V, to Falstaff
Fri, 6 Aug '21
Fictional operator of the Discovery One spaceship
Fri, 30 Apr '21
"Open the pod bay doors, ___" (classic movie line)