A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

AHEM

Sat, 24 Feb '24
[I'm right here, you know]
Sat, 13 Jan '24
Sound in a clearing?
Sun, 12 Nov '23
[If you'll allow me to butt in …]
Sun, 5 Nov '23
[purposeful cough]
Thu, 2 Nov '23
"Do you mind?!"
Thu, 31 Aug '23
[Cough cough]
Sun, 6 Aug '23
"I'm literally right here ..."
Sun, 30 Jul '23
[Excuse me]
Mon, 15 May '23
[Um … I'm standing right here]
Wed, 10 May '23
[I'm right here!]
Wed, 26 Apr '23
[I'm standing right here]
Mon, 27 Mar '23
[I'm about to speak …]
Tue, 28 Jun '22
Throat-clearing sound
Sun, 17 Apr '22
"Excuse me ..."
Wed, 6 Apr '22
[Don't forget about me!]
Thu, 24 Mar '22
Attention-getter
Mon, 7 Feb '22
"Excuse me"
Sat, 3 Jul '21
"Beg pardon ..."
Sat, 8 May '21
"I'm right here"
Tue, 2 Mar '21
[I can hear you, you know]