A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ELOPE

Sun, 24 Jul '22
Split, then come together?
Mon, 18 Jul '22
Run away to get hitched
Sun, 10 Jul '22
Run off together
Wed, 1 Jun '22
Surreptitiously say "26-Across," say
Wed, 18 May '22
Run into a hitch?
Fri, 7 Jan '22
Secretly unionize?
Sun, 4 Jul '21
Run off (with)
Sat, 1 May '21
Go off with a hitch?
Sat, 17 Apr '21
Emulate Desdemona and Othello, in a way
Sun, 7 Feb '21
Skip the big ceremony, say