A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

APE

Fri, 25 Nov '22
Parrot
Tue, 18 Oct '22
Mimic
Sun, 2 Oct '22
Imitate
Mon, 26 Sep '22
Gorilla, e.g.
Wed, 21 Sep '22
Copy
Mon, 12 Sep '22
Animal aptly found in "banana peel"
Tue, 2 Aug '22
King Kong, for one
Sat, 9 Jul '22
Halloween costume requiring a full-body suit
Sun, 22 May '22
Bad way to go
Wed, 11 May '22
Copy
Sun, 8 May '22
Certain close relative
Sun, 24 Apr '22
Great ___
Thu, 17 Mar '22
Galoot
Mon, 7 Mar '22
Gibbon or gorilla
Wed, 23 Feb '22
Parrot
Sat, 8 Jan '22
Hominid
Wed, 29 Dec '21
Bonobo, for one
Sun, 26 Dec '21
Echo, perhaps
Sun, 5 Dec '21
Mimic
Sun, 28 Nov '21
Bonobo, e.g.
Mon, 22 Nov '21
Primate with no tail
Sun, 31 Oct '21
Member of the superfamily Hominoidea
Mon, 11 Oct '21
King Kong or Donkey Kong
Wed, 4 Aug '21
Donkey Kong, for one
Mon, 7 Jun '21
Gorilla
Fri, 28 May '21
Great ___
Tue, 11 May '21
Orangutan or gorilla
Sun, 2 May '21
Mimic
Mon, 26 Apr '21
Mimic
Mon, 5 Apr '21
Gibbon or gorilla
Tue, 23 Mar '21
Copy
Sat, 20 Mar '21
Big galoot
Sun, 28 Feb '21
Mimic
Sat, 16 Jan '21
Galoot
Sun, 3 Jan '21
Sci-fi's Dr. Zaius, for one