A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

POD

Fri, 26 Apr '24
Storage unit
Thu, 25 Apr '24
Where peas are queued?
Wed, 17 Apr '24
Escape vessel
Mon, 9 Oct '23
Pea container
Sat, 1 Jul '23
Peeved, for short
Sun, 18 Jun '23
Keeper of the peas?
Sun, 2 Apr '23
Coffee maker insert
Sun, 21 Aug '22
Vanilla unit
Sun, 1 May '22
Air or Ear ender, in tech
Sat, 10 Jul '21
What a whale watcher may watch
Sun, 21 Feb '21
Pride : lions :: ___ : dolphins