A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ERA

Mon, 26 Sep '22
Slice of history
Sat, 17 Sep '22
Jacobean ___
Wed, 14 Sep '22
Baseball's so-called "steroid ___"
Tue, 13 Sep '22
The "E" in B.C.E.
Sun, 11 Sep '22
Napoleonic ___
Wed, 13 Jul '22
Stretch of time
Sat, 25 Jun '22
Classic Vans sneaker model
Tue, 21 Jun '22
Constitutional initiative passed in '72 but never ratified
Thu, 9 Jun '22
___ Now (onetime political button)
Sun, 5 Jun '22
Geological span
Wed, 25 May '22
Unfinished crusade of the 1970s, in brief
Mon, 23 May '22
Distinctive period
Sun, 22 May '22
One's time in office, maybe
Thu, 5 May '22
Bygone ___
Mon, 2 May '22
Big band ___ (time span after the Jazz Age)
Fri, 15 Apr '22
Silent ___
Thu, 14 Apr '22
Jazz Age, e.g.
Wed, 30 Mar '22
The "E" of B.C.E.
Wed, 16 Mar '22
Swing ___ (1933-47)
Sat, 5 Feb '22
Period
Tue, 25 Jan '22
Tide competitor
Mon, 10 Jan '22
Noted stretch of time
Fri, 31 Dec '21
Modern ___
Wed, 29 Dec '21
Historically significant period
Mon, 27 Dec '21
Swing ___ (when big bands were big)
Wed, 15 Dec '21
Obama ___ (2009-17)
Wed, 8 Dec '21
Long time
Sun, 28 Nov '21
Stretch of time
Sat, 27 Nov '21
Reconstruction, e.g.
Wed, 24 Nov '21
#MeToo ___
Mon, 25 Oct '21
Timeline segment
Tue, 12 Oct '21
Most common answer in New York Times crosswords (more than 6% of all puzzles)
Wed, 15 Sep '21
The "E" in B.C.E.
Tue, 31 Aug '21
Constitutional measure passed in '72 but never ratified
Tue, 24 Aug '21
Period with start and end dates
Mon, 2 Aug '21
Victorian ___
Tue, 22 Jun '21
Obama ___
Sun, 9 May '21
The Renaissance, for one
Sun, 2 May '21
Baseball's dead-ball ___ (around 1900-20)
Fri, 30 Apr '21
Internet ___
Sun, 18 Apr '21
Notable period
Wed, 7 Apr '21
Period of history
Sun, 4 Apr '21
New ___ (cap brand)
Tue, 9 Mar '21
Victorian ___
Mon, 8 Feb '21
Constitutional proposal supported by the National Woman's Party, for short
Sun, 7 Feb '21
Long period
Sat, 6 Feb '21
Long-proposed constitutional inits.
Fri, 5 Feb '21
Reconstruction, e.g.
Wed, 27 Jan '21
Notable time
Mon, 25 Jan '21
Time span sometimes named after a president
Fri, 22 Jan '21
The Depression, for one
Tue, 12 Jan '21
Timeline unit
Thu, 7 Jan '21
K's help it
Fri, 1 Jan '21
Timeline division
Wed, 30 Dec '20
Modern ___