A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ASH

Sat, 30 Apr '22
Burning issue
Tue, 15 Mar '22
Barbecue residue
Sun, 13 Mar '22
Vape's lack
Sat, 12 Mar '22
Something picked up by a silent butler
Sat, 12 Feb '22
Hard wood
Thu, 30 Dec '21
Remains to be seen?
Sun, 28 Nov '21
Incense residue
Sun, 21 Nov '21
Accompanier of smoke
Mon, 25 Oct '21
Wood for a baseball bat
Fri, 22 Oct '21
Vapers don't get it
Tue, 12 Oct '21
Volcanic pollutant
Wed, 29 Sep '21
Wood in a baseball bat
Sun, 26 Sep '21
Grate expectations?
Wed, 1 Sep '21
Fire proof?
Mon, 23 Aug '21
Campfire waste
Thu, 29 Apr '21
Wood in Louisville Sluggers
Tue, 9 Mar '21
___ Wednesday
Sat, 6 Mar '21
Grate stuff
Wed, 10 Feb '21
"Green," "black" or "white" tree
Mon, 8 Feb '21
What's left in a fireplace
Fri, 1 Jan '21
Traditional source of fertilizer