A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

TEND

Fri, 10 May '24
Look after
Fri, 26 Apr '24
Mind
Sun, 24 Dec '23
Incline
Tue, 5 Dec '23
Maintain, as a bar
Sun, 29 Oct '23
Take care of
Thu, 27 Jul '23
Take care of
Sat, 24 Jun '23
Watch
Wed, 15 Mar '23
Oversee, as a flock
Mon, 30 Jan '23
Watch over, as a fire
Fri, 18 Nov '22
Watch over
Sat, 25 Dec '21
Be behind bars?
Sat, 6 Nov '21
Guard, perhaps
Tue, 13 Jul '21
Be inclined (to)
Mon, 19 Apr '21
Look after, as a fire, bar or flock
Fri, 19 Mar '21
Lean
Tue, 23 Feb '21
Be in charge of, as a bar