A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OER

Sat, 14 May '22
"The Strife Is ___, the Battle Done" (Easter hymn)
Sat, 9 Apr '22
"Utter your gravity ___ a gossip's bowl": "Romeo and Juliet"
Mon, 7 Mar '22
"___ the fields we go ..."
Sun, 6 Mar '22
Opposite of 'neath
Sun, 23 Jan '22
Over-poetical?
Wed, 8 Dec '21
'Neath's opposite
Wed, 1 Dec '21
Anthem contraction
Mon, 8 Nov '21
Opposite of 'neath
Wed, 14 Jul '21
"Jingle Bells" contraction
Wed, 2 Jun '21
Anthem contraction
Sun, 14 Feb '21
Anthem contraction
Fri, 1 Jan '21
Poetic contraction