A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

SEW

Wed, 28 Sep '22
Wrap (up)
Mon, 12 Sep '22
Do some needlework
Mon, 15 Aug '22
Do some threadwork
Tue, 9 Aug '22
Put in stitches
Sun, 17 Jul '22
Do some hemming, but not hawing
Wed, 2 Feb '22
Do a bit of tailoring
Thu, 27 Jan '22
Finish, with "up"
Mon, 24 Jan '22
Stitch
Thu, 25 Nov '21
Darn, e.g.
Thu, 15 Jul '21
Do some patching, say
Sat, 24 Apr '21
Lock (up)
Mon, 22 Mar '21
Use needle and thread
Wed, 10 Mar '21
Ply the needle
Tue, 19 Jan '21
Do some stitching