A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OMEGA

Sat, 4 Jun '22
Lowest-ranking member of a group
Sun, 30 Jan '22
Sign of resistance
Thu, 20 Jan '22
Watch brand for 007
Wed, 29 Dec '21
The end
Tue, 30 Nov '21
The end of the Greek world?
Fri, 16 Jul '21
Last of the Greeks
Wed, 7 Jul '21
Symbol for 5-Across
Tue, 6 Jul '21
___-3 fatty acids
Sun, 16 May '21
___-3
Wed, 13 Jan '21
Rolex rival