A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ARID

Sun, 28 Aug '22
Like Antarctica
Sun, 7 Aug '22
Bone-dry
Fri, 27 May '22
Really dry
Wed, 27 Apr '22
Parched
Sat, 9 Apr '22
Like much of Sudan
Wed, 9 Mar '22
Desertlike
Tue, 15 Feb '22
Parched, as land
Sun, 23 Jan '22
Like climates where cacti thrive
Tue, 7 Dec '21
Like Death Valley
Wed, 1 Dec '21
Like the Australian outback
Fri, 15 Oct '21
Like Mars
Sun, 18 Jul '21
Saharan
Mon, 10 May '21
Like the climate of Death Valley
Sat, 6 Mar '21
Like most of Mars
Mon, 15 Feb '21
Really dry
Sun, 31 Jan '21
Dry
Tue, 12 Jan '21
Bone-dry