A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ASHE

Fri, 7 Oct '22
Lead-in to a Southern "-ville"
Mon, 29 Aug '22
___ Stadium, U.S. Open tennis locale
Sat, 27 Aug '22
North Carolina county whose seat is Jefferson
Sun, 17 Jul '22
1975 Wimbledon winner
Wed, 15 Jun '22
Arthur ___, 1975 Wimbledon winner
Thu, 23 Dec '21
Lead-in to a Southern "-ville"
Mon, 15 Nov '21
Arthur ___ Stadium, U.S. Open locale
Mon, 25 Oct '21
Tennis great Arthur
Sun, 18 Jul '21
1975 Wimbledon champ
Sat, 3 Jul '21
Stadium in the Billie Jean King National Tennis Center
Wed, 24 Mar '21
Tennis great posthumously awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom
Sat, 9 Jan '21
North Carolina county near the Tennessee border