A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

HENS

Sun, 10 Dec '23
Brooding bunch
Thu, 13 Jul '23
Brooding sorts
Fri, 12 May '23
They rule the roost
Mon, 17 Apr '23
Birds in a coop
Thu, 1 Dec '22
Female lobsters
Fri, 12 Aug '22
No cock-a-doodle-doo-ers
Sun, 6 Feb '22
___ teeth (proverbial rarity)
Wed, 19 Jan '22
Ones tending to brood?
Mon, 19 Jul '21
Scarce as ___ teeth
Fri, 15 Jan '21
Nested layers?