A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

REST

Mon, 23 May '22
Pause, on sheet music
Wed, 18 May '22
“The ___ is silence”: Hamlet
Mon, 31 Jan '22
Others
Wed, 12 Jan '22
Musician's break
Sun, 21 Nov '21
What remains, with "the"
Tue, 9 Nov '21
Doctor's generic recommendation
Tue, 20 Jul '21
One of the R's in R&R
Sun, 20 Jun '21
Break
Fri, 4 Jun '21
Time out?
Sat, 29 May '21
Break
Wed, 5 May '21
Balance
Sat, 24 Apr '21
Indicator to be quiet
Wed, 10 Mar '21
Common medical advice
Sun, 24 Jan '21
One "R" in R&R