A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

AGED

Tue, 4 Jun '24
Developed, in a way
Mon, 6 May '24
Got up there in years
Mon, 1 Jan '24
Got on in years
Tue, 26 Sep '23
Got better with time, say
Sun, 23 Jul '23
Up there, so to speak
Sat, 22 Jul '23
Like the expensive stuff, often
Fri, 3 Mar '23
Like balsamic vinegar
Sat, 14 Jan '23
Like fine wine, but not fine olive oil
Sun, 23 Oct '22
Disposal
Wed, 12 Oct '22
Gray-haired, say
Tue, 4 Oct '22
Spent some time in a cellar, say
Thu, 4 Aug '22
Dry-___ beef
Sat, 28 May '22
Longevous
Tue, 12 Apr '22
Like Scotch
Fri, 18 Mar '22
Let develop, in a way
Sat, 8 Jan '22
Seasoned
Sun, 25 Jul '21
Like Parmesan, but not mozzarella
Wed, 7 Apr '21
Like fine wines
Thu, 11 Mar '21
Barrel-___
Wed, 27 Jan '21
Like sharp cheddar