A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

REI

Fri, 16 Sep '22
Big name in outdoor gear
Wed, 7 Sep '22
Holder of tent sales
Wed, 27 Jul '22
Big name in outdoor gear
Sat, 9 Jul '22
Big retailer of camping gear
Wed, 27 Apr '22
Big retailer of camping gear
Fri, 18 Feb '22
Popular gear retailer
Wed, 12 Jan '22
Giant in camping gear
Mon, 25 Oct '21
Big retailer of outdoor gear
Sun, 25 Jul '21
Camping gear brand
Fri, 21 May '21
Competitor of Dick's Sporting Goods
Sat, 8 May '21
Camper's gear chain
Sun, 14 Feb '21
L.L. Bean competitor
Fri, 1 Jan '21
A fifth