A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

SLEW

Tue, 4 Oct '22
Large number
Tue, 20 Sep '22
Staked, as a vampire
Fri, 15 Jul '22
Host
Thu, 14 Jul '22
Whole bunch
Wed, 18 May '22
Plethora
Sun, 13 Mar '22
Took down, in a way
Wed, 9 Mar '22
Whole bunch
Sun, 20 Feb '22
Offed
Mon, 26 Jul '21
Whole lot
Tue, 22 Jun '21
Whole bunch
Thu, 7 Jan '21
Whole lot