A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ELM

Mon, 10 Oct '22
Stately shade tree
Sun, 31 Jul '22
The Liberty Tree, e.g.
Mon, 11 Jul '22
Stately tree
Mon, 2 May '22
Dutch ___ disease
Thu, 21 Apr '22
Common street name in suburbia
Sat, 16 Apr '22
___ borer (beetle)
Tue, 22 Mar '22
Stately tree
Tue, 22 Feb '22
"Nightmare" street
Thu, 17 Feb '22
West ___ (furniture chain)
Tue, 9 Nov '21
Common street name in the Northeast
Thu, 29 Jul '21
Bow-making choice
Sun, 25 Jul '21
Tree that lends its name to a programming language
Tue, 20 Jul '21
Furniture wood
Mon, 14 Jun '21
Street frequented by Freddy Krueger
Wed, 5 May '21
Common street name in the Northeast
Mon, 3 May '21
Boston's Liberty Tree, e.g.