A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

SIT

Mon, 20 May '24
Use a chair
Mon, 15 Apr '24
Use a chair
Sun, 21 Jan '24
Squat, so to speak
Wed, 13 Dec '23
"Make yourself comfortable!"
Tue, 25 Jul '23
"Park your keister!"
Mon, 17 Jul '23
Use a chair
Tue, 23 May '23
"Pull up a chair!"
Sun, 14 May '23
Invitation in a therapist's office
Fri, 3 Feb '23
Pose
Thu, 2 Feb '23
Command that might precede "Shake!"
Fri, 27 Jan '23
Go for a lap?
Tue, 17 Jan '23
Command just before giving a dog treat
Sun, 20 Nov '22
Obedience school command
Fri, 28 Oct '22
Word with baby or house
Thu, 14 Jul '22
___ pretty
Sun, 3 Jul '22
Command to a dog
Sat, 18 Jun '22
Not play, with "out"
Sun, 12 Jun '22
Be on the bottom?
Tue, 10 May '22
Survive a round of musical chairs
Sat, 19 Mar '22
Collect dust
Wed, 12 Jan '22
Stand no more, say
Fri, 15 Oct '21
Model (for)
Thu, 29 Jul '21
"Make yourself comfortable"
Thu, 8 Jul '21
Collect dust
Fri, 16 Apr '21
Something one can't stand to do
Sat, 10 Apr '21
Go nowhere
Sun, 21 Mar '21
Command to a dog
Fri, 1 Jan '21
Complete a lap?