A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

DAM

Sun, 21 Apr '24
Block (up)
Thu, 21 Dec '23
Irrigation structure
Wed, 15 Nov '23
Bad thing to burst
Tue, 16 May '23
Reservoir producer
Mon, 20 Mar '23
What the fish said when it swam into a concrete wall, per an old joke
Sun, 8 Jan '23
Power project
Sat, 3 Dec '22
Block
Sun, 30 Oct '22
Hoover, for one
Thu, 22 Sep '22
The tallest one in the U.S. is California's Oroville
Sun, 1 May '22
Leave it to beavers
Fri, 30 Jul '21
Army Corps of Engineers project
Sun, 11 Jul '21
Something to leave to beavers?
Thu, 17 Jun '21
Locale for a salmon ladder
Wed, 16 Jun '21
Stop up
Thu, 11 Feb '21
It holds water