A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ALAS

Mon, 26 Sep '22
"Too bad, so sad!"
Thu, 15 Sep '22
[Sigh]
Sun, 28 Aug '22
"So it goes"
Sat, 27 Aug '22
"___ the day!" (exclamation from "Twelfth Night")
Wed, 13 Jul '22
"Ah, me!"
Sun, 5 Jun '22
[sigh]
Fri, 18 Feb '22
Lead-in to some regrets
Fri, 11 Feb '22
Word of regret
Tue, 8 Feb '22
[sigh]
Sat, 22 Jan '22
Regrettably
Thu, 13 Jan '22
[Sigh]
Fri, 24 Dec '21
"___ poor Romeo!": Shak.
Mon, 20 Dec '21
Cry of pity
Wed, 20 Oct '21
"So it goes"
Sun, 1 Aug '21
Exclamation after a sigh
Tue, 22 Jun '21
"So sad"
Mon, 15 Mar '21
"Sadly ..."
Sat, 6 Mar '21
"That's the way the cookie crumbles"
Tue, 9 Feb '21
Expression of grief