A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

TGIF

Sun, 5 Jun '22
"Here I come, weekend!"
Mon, 16 May '22
"Yay! Tomorrow's Saturday!"
Sat, 23 Apr '22
Freedom cry, for some
Tue, 22 Feb '22
"The weekend's almost here, yay!"
Fri, 21 Jan '22
"Let's weekend!"
Wed, 12 Jan '22
Pre-weekend outburst
Thu, 6 Jan '22
End-of-week exclamation
Tue, 26 Oct '21
End-of-the-week shout
Sun, 1 Aug '21
"Weekend, here I come!"
Sun, 4 Jul '21
Apt anagram of GIFT
Sun, 13 Jun '21
Title letters chanted in a 2011 Katy Perry hit
Fri, 5 Feb '21
Inits. one might hear at the office