A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

IRON

Sun, 28 Apr '24
Hotel room freebie
Mon, 22 Jan '24
Metal for a blacksmith
Mon, 1 Jan '24
Steel component
Fri, 10 Nov '23
Press
Tue, 29 Aug '23
Certain golf club
Tue, 25 Jul '23
Weights, colloquially
Sat, 10 Jun '23
Smooth out
Wed, 22 Mar '23
___ pyrite (fool's gold)
Wed, 15 Mar '23
It makes up about a third of our planet's mass
Tue, 21 Feb '23
___ Lady (nickname for Margaret Thatcher or the Eiffel Tower)
Tue, 13 Dec '22
Smooth (out)
Thu, 6 Oct '22
Pumped metal
Sat, 10 Sep '22
Smooth, in a way
Sun, 7 Aug '22
Spinach is rich in it
Mon, 20 Jun '22
Clothes presser
Wed, 25 May '22
Monopoly token replaced by a cat in 2013
Mon, 18 Apr '22
Metal for a girder
Tue, 12 Apr '22
___ Man, one of the Avengers
Thu, 31 Mar '22
Midrange club
Tue, 8 Mar '22
A hot one makes a good impression
Mon, 27 Dec '21
Element that also names a household appliance
Tue, 21 Dec '21
Smooth (out)
Wed, 4 Aug '21
Throne material on "Game of Thrones"
Tue, 15 Jun '21
De-wrinkle
Sat, 22 May '21
What might help you get out of a rough spot?
Sat, 8 May '21
Club type
Mon, 19 Apr '21
Wrinkle remover
Fri, 29 Jan '21
Pressing need
Mon, 25 Jan '21
Alternative to a wood, in golf