A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

MAO

Thu, 10 Nov '22
"Nixon in China" role
Thu, 16 Jun '22
Repeated Warhol subject
Mon, 24 Jan '22
"Chairman" of Chinese Communism
Thu, 5 Aug '21
Portrait seen on renminbi bank notes
Sun, 27 Jun '21
Kind of jacket
Mon, 12 Apr '21
China's ___ Zedong
Wed, 7 Apr '21
Leader namechecked in the Beatles' "Revolution"
Wed, 17 Feb '21
World leader with a distinctive jacket
Mon, 15 Feb '21
Founder of Communist China
Mon, 8 Feb '21
China's Chairman ___
Sun, 24 Jan '21
Portrait seen on renminbi bills
Tue, 12 Jan '21
Iconic Andy Warhol subject