A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OAHU

Fri, 10 May '24
It has a world-famous North Shore
Thu, 9 May '24
Home of the first Dole plantation
Wed, 10 Apr '24
Island that's home to a state capital
Wed, 31 Jan '24
Waikiki locale
Tue, 5 Dec '23
Diamond Head's island
Sun, 8 Oct '23
Home to the Reef Runway, the first major airport runway built completely offshore
Wed, 4 Oct '23
Home to Iolani Palace
Tue, 26 Sep '23
Home of the palace Hanaiakamalama
Wed, 16 Aug '23
Where Diamond Head is
Mon, 29 May '23
Island home to Honolulu
Thu, 16 Mar '23
Home of the U.S.S. Arizona Memorial
Wed, 8 Mar '23
"From Here to Eternity" setting
Sun, 4 Dec '22
Home of Wheeler Army Airfield
Wed, 26 Oct '22
Pearl Harbor National Memorial locale
Thu, 11 Aug '22
Filming locale for "the beach" in "Lost"
Sun, 7 Aug '22
"Magnum, P.I." setting
Mon, 1 Aug '22
Honolulu's island
Sun, 17 Jul '22
Home of Iolani Palace
Thu, 30 Jun '22
American home of a royal palace
Sun, 12 Jun '22
Home to the Dole Plantation
Fri, 20 May '22
U.S. locale that, when said quickly, sounds like a cheer
Tue, 15 Feb '22
Honolulu's island
Sun, 13 Feb '22
Island with a trisyllabic name
Mon, 15 Nov '21
Most populous Hawaiian island
Sun, 14 Nov '21
Obama's birthplace
Thu, 5 Aug '21
Isle known as "The Gathering Place"
Mon, 2 Aug '21
Where Honolulu is
Wed, 21 Jul '21
Island WNW of Molokai
Thu, 1 Jul '21
Where the Ko'olau range is located
Mon, 28 Jun '21
Honolulu's home
Thu, 8 Apr '21
Island where it once rained for 331 days straight
Mon, 15 Feb '21
Home of Waikiki Beach