A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

LIT

Tue, 21 May '24
Happening, in modern parlance
Fri, 19 Apr '24
A.P. subj.
Tue, 16 Apr '24
Deserving of a fire emoji, as a party
Fri, 22 Mar '24
A.P. subj.
Tue, 28 Nov '23
Hoppin', as a party
Fri, 28 Apr '23
On, say
Fri, 17 Mar '23
English ___
Wed, 11 Jan '23
Buzzing … or, in a different sense, buzzed
Wed, 23 Nov '22
Descriptor for a candle or a party
Tue, 15 Nov '22
On fire
Mon, 6 Jun '22
On fire
Sun, 6 Mar '22
Hoppin'
Wed, 19 Jan '22
Poppin', as a party
Tue, 30 Nov '21
Happenin', modernly
Sun, 17 Oct '21
Kid ___
Sat, 7 Aug '21
Awesome, slangily
Sun, 11 Jul '21
Word following English or green
Sat, 19 Jun '21
Hoppin', in modern lingo
Thu, 15 Apr '21
Happening, in slang
Tue, 23 Mar '21
Like candles before singing "Happy Birthday"
Sat, 27 Feb '21
"Let's get ___!" (party cry)