A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

AMIE

Sun, 2 Jun '24
French female friend
Tue, 28 May '24
Parisian pal
Sun, 25 Feb '24
Female French friend
Wed, 17 Jan '24
Female friend, in French
Sun, 8 Oct '23
Pen pal from Paris, perhaps
Mon, 19 Jun '23
French female friend
Wed, 1 Mar '23
French girlfriend
Sun, 30 Oct '22
Cosette, to Marius, in "Les Misérables"
Sun, 28 Aug '22
Opposite of une adversaire
Fri, 29 Jul '22
"Ma Belle ___" (1970 #5 hit)
Sat, 21 May '22
Catherine, e.g., in "Jules et Jim"
Mon, 20 Dec '21
Female French friend
Tue, 14 Dec '21
Female friend in France
Thu, 2 Dec '21
Bestie in Bordeaux
Sun, 8 Aug '21
Companion in Brittany
Fri, 30 Jul '21
Many a demoiselle d'honneur
Wed, 12 May '21
Grenoble gal pal
Tue, 16 Feb '21
Friend in France
Sat, 2 Jan '21
German : Freundin :: French : ___