A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

RAN

Tue, 29 Nov '22
Managed
Fri, 18 Nov '22
Put in the paper
Wed, 16 Nov '22
Tried to get elected
Fri, 4 Nov '22
Took off
Fri, 21 Oct '22
Didn't stay put, as mascara
Mon, 17 Oct '22
Participated in a marathon, e.g.
Mon, 22 Aug '22
Competed in a 10K, say
Wed, 10 Aug '22
Threw one's hat in the ring
Mon, 4 Jul '22
Campaigned for office
Wed, 25 May '22
Executed, as a program
Sun, 15 May '22
Booked it
Tue, 3 May '22
Fled
Tue, 12 Apr '22
Chaired
Wed, 30 Mar '22
Went on, as an errand
Thu, 17 Mar '22
Took off
Sat, 29 Jan '22
Bolted
Sun, 9 Jan '22
Chaired
Sun, 8 Aug '21
Sought office
Sun, 25 Jul '21
Akira Kurosawa film
Sun, 28 Feb '21
Published
Mon, 22 Feb '21
Sprinted
Fri, 1 Jan '21
Took off