A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

HAT

Wed, 7 Sep '22
Something you should hold onto, in an expression
Mon, 8 Aug '22
Boater or bowler
Sat, 2 Jul '22
Hi-___
Thu, 7 Apr '22
Solution to a bad hair day, maybe
Sun, 20 Mar '22
What, in multiple senses, might get tipped
Sun, 8 Aug '21
Derby, e.g.
Tue, 3 Aug '21
Milliner's creation
Wed, 21 Jul '21
It can be tipped ... or collect tips
Sun, 18 Jul '21
One of Abraham Lincoln's is in the Smithsonian
Sat, 3 Jul '21
Monopoly token
Thu, 24 Jun '21
Top gear
Mon, 21 Jun '21
Sombrero, e.g.
Fri, 5 Mar '21
Monopoly token