A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

POE

Sat, 25 Jun '22
"A Dream Within a Dream" writer
Tue, 24 May '22
"The Raven" poet
Fri, 15 Apr '22
Who wrote "All that we see or seem / Is but a dream within a dream"
Mon, 24 Jan '22
Author of "The Gold-Bug"
Thu, 20 Jan '22
Mascot of the N.F.L.'s Ravens, appropriately
Fri, 17 Dec '21
He once wrote "I became insane, with long intervals of horrible sanity"
Wed, 24 Nov '21
"Annabel Lee" poet
Tue, 10 Aug '21
"The Tell-Tale Heart" writer
Wed, 7 Jul '21
"The Fall of the House of Usher" writer
Wed, 23 Jun '21
Who wrote "To Helen" and "For Annie"
Wed, 7 Apr '21
Fittingly, the first three letters of 32-Across
Mon, 15 Feb '21
Author Edgar Allan ___
Sun, 10 Jan '21
"The Masque of the Red Death" writer