A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

MIA

Fri, 29 Apr '22
"O patria ___" ("Aida" aria)
Sun, 17 Apr '22
Unaccounted for, for short
Thu, 7 Apr '22
The Heat, on scoreboards
Sun, 27 Mar '22
Actress Farrow
Wed, 9 Mar '22
Nowhere to be found, informally
Sun, 2 Jan '22
Rapper known offstage as Mathangi Arulpragasam
Tue, 14 Dec '21
Actress Farrow
Wed, 11 Aug '21
"Mamma ___!"
Sun, 25 Jul '21
Unaccounted for, briefly
Thu, 27 May '21
G.I. to be worried about
Tue, 30 Mar '21
Leading female role in "Pulp Fiction"
Thu, 18 Mar '21
___ Love, Utah's first Black congressperson
Wed, 10 Mar '21
Hamm with two Olympic gold medals
Mon, 11 Jan '21
Soccer star Hamm