A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ORB

Thu, 2 Dec '21
Scepter topper
Fri, 15 Oct '21
Pluto, e.g.
Thu, 12 Aug '21
Globe
Wed, 21 Jul '21
Globe
Thu, 8 Jul '21
Baseball, e.g.
Fri, 2 Jul '21
Scepter topper
Fri, 11 Jun '21
Bit of royal regalia
Thu, 29 Apr '21
Globe
Fri, 19 Feb '21
The sun or the moon
Wed, 3 Feb '21
Mercury or Venus, e.g.