A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ACT

Mon, 26 Sep '22
Do something
Mon, 15 Aug '22
Civil Rights ___ of 1964
Fri, 20 May '22
Charade
Tue, 17 May '22
Not just sit around daydreaming
Fri, 22 Apr '22
See 18-Down
Fri, 18 Mar '22
The musical "Come From Away" has one
Sun, 20 Feb '22
Charade
Mon, 14 Feb '22
Part of a play
Sat, 5 Feb '22
Part of a play group?
Tue, 25 Jan '22
University entrance exam, for short
Sun, 12 Dec '21
One of two in "Hamilton"
Thu, 2 Dec '21
One may be tough to follow
Wed, 20 Oct '21
Dramatic segment
Thu, 12 Aug '21
See 34-Across
Fri, 18 Jun '21
Enter the picture?
Thu, 10 Jun '21
___ Up, political group formed in response to the AIDS crisis
Sat, 8 May '21
III, e.g., in "Richard III"
Sun, 28 Mar '21
Juggling or magic, in a talent show
Wed, 24 Feb '21
Broadway division
Tue, 16 Feb '21
Do something
Wed, 3 Feb '21
Do something
Wed, 13 Jan '21
Variety show segment
Fri, 1 Jan '21
Do one's part?