A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

PHD

Thu, 9 Nov '23
Academic's credential
Wed, 26 Apr '23
Indication of learnedness, for short
Sat, 18 Feb '23
Many a prof
Tue, 7 Feb '23
Third degree?
Thu, 19 Jan '23
High degree
Mon, 3 Oct '22
Hood wearer at a graduation, for short
Mon, 21 Mar '22
Academic's degree
Thu, 17 Mar '22
Many a prof has one
Sun, 6 Feb '22
Goal for many a T.A.
Tue, 16 Nov '21
Many a college prof
Sat, 16 Oct '21
Utmost degree?
Sun, 15 Aug '21
Prof's degree