A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OARS

Wed, 21 Sep '22
Two in a row?
Tue, 6 Sep '22
Rest on one's ___ (take it easy)
Wed, 3 Aug '22
Pair in a dinghy
Sun, 12 Jun '22
Rest on one's ___
Sun, 15 May '22
Gear for gondoliers
Wed, 16 Feb '22
They're placed in locks
Thu, 18 Nov '21
Pair at sea
Sun, 15 Aug '21
Set of 50 on the Argo, in myth
Mon, 21 Jun '21
Cousins of paddles
Thu, 17 Jun '21
Sticks in the water
Sat, 6 Mar '21
Sticks in water