A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ASKS

Sun, 12 Jun '22
Poses
Tue, 29 Mar '22
Shows curiosity
Wed, 9 Mar '22
Requests
Sun, 26 Dec '21
Seeks a favor, say
Wed, 27 Oct '21
Doesn't just assume, say
Tue, 17 Aug '21
Inquires
Fri, 13 Aug '21
Bidding considerations
Sun, 23 May '21
Picks the brain of
Sun, 2 May '21
Doesn't just assume
Mon, 1 Mar '21
Queries