A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

TREE

Mon, 12 Feb '24
Beech or birch
Mon, 5 Feb '24
Peach or beech
Sun, 4 Feb '24
Genealogist's chart
Mon, 22 Jan '24
Lumberjack's target
Mon, 18 Dec '23
Last word in "The Twelve Days of Christmas"
Sat, 4 Nov '23
Lemon or orange
Mon, 30 Oct '23
Weeping willow or quaking aspen
Mon, 14 Aug '23
You could tell how old it is if you saw it!
Thu, 29 Jun '23
Feature of the flags of Lebanon and Belize
Fri, 12 May '23
General Sherman, in Tulare County, Calif., is the world's largest one
Thu, 11 May '23
___ of life
Mon, 20 Mar '23
Lofty spot for K-I-S-S-I-N-G, in a schoolyard taunt
Sun, 1 Jan '23
Image on the flag of Oakland, Calif., appropriately
Wed, 9 Nov '22
See 27-Across
Sun, 3 Jul '22
Syntactician's drawing
Tue, 18 Jan '22
Oak or beech
Sun, 2 Jan '22
Bo or bonsai
Fri, 31 Dec '21
Thing with rings
Sun, 26 Dec '21
Pecan or peach
Tue, 14 Dec '21
See 58-Down
Sun, 12 Dec '21
Christmas purchase
Wed, 18 Aug '21
Data structure with a root node
Sat, 12 Jun '21
Dendrogram, more familiarly
Mon, 26 Apr '21
Apple or maple
Sat, 24 Apr '21
Corner
Tue, 16 Mar '21
Arborist's interest
Sun, 31 Jan '21
The Berenstain Bears live in one