A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

EAT

Tue, 15 Nov '22
Dog-___-dog (vicious)
Thu, 20 Oct '22
Accept as a loss
Thu, 6 Oct '22
Finish off
Sun, 2 Oct '22
Word before crow or dirt
Sun, 25 Sep '22
Take in
Wed, 21 Sep '22
Nosh on
Tue, 19 Jul '22
Have a meal
Sun, 17 Jul '22
Consume
Sat, 2 Jul '22
Verb whose past tense form is an anagram of its present tense
Fri, 24 Jun '22
Gobble up
Mon, 13 Jun '22
Have for lunch
Sat, 9 Apr '22
Put down
Sun, 27 Mar '22
"People who love to ___ are always the best people": Julia Child
Thu, 24 Mar '22
Have a little lamb?
Wed, 23 Mar '22
Polish off
Mon, 28 Feb '22
Enjoy a meal
Fri, 11 Feb '22
Down
Mon, 7 Feb '22
Consume
Tue, 1 Feb '22
Dine
Mon, 10 Jan '22
Dig in at dinner
Thu, 30 Dec '21
Down
Mon, 27 Dec '21
"Don't starve yourself!"
Sat, 11 Dec '21
Have
Fri, 10 Dec '21
"Let's ___!"
Wed, 20 Oct '21
Swallow
Wed, 18 Aug '21
Fuel up, in a way
Thu, 10 Jun '21
"Let's ___!"
Sun, 6 Jun '21
Take sides?
Wed, 19 May '21
"Dig in!"
Thu, 8 Apr '21
Take in
Fri, 26 Mar '21
Not fast
Fri, 5 Mar '21
Work on a course
Sun, 28 Feb '21
Graze
Tue, 12 Jan '21
Dine
Thu, 7 Jan '21
Chow down