A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

NEAT

Tue, 24 May '22
Like Scotch served without ice
Sun, 24 Apr '22
"Dope!"
Tue, 8 Feb '22
Nifty
Wed, 29 Dec '21
Well-kept
Fri, 26 Nov '21
With 66-Across, "Good thinking!"
Sat, 13 Nov '21
"Slick"
Sun, 17 Oct '21
Fastidious
Wed, 18 Aug '21
Tidy
Thu, 12 Aug '21
"Good stuff!"
Sun, 25 Jul '21
"Gee, that's swell!"
Wed, 21 Jul '21
Well-kept
Mon, 24 May '21
Tidy
Thu, 15 Apr '21
Straight up