A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

OHIO

Sun, 11 Sep '22
Home of Kenyon College
Mon, 11 Jul '22
Cincinnati's river
Tue, 24 May '22
Home of Miami University
Mon, 14 Mar '22
Youngstown's home
Wed, 16 Feb '22
Lima's home
Fri, 3 Dec '21
Answer to the old riddle "What's round on the ends and high in the middle?"
Wed, 1 Dec '21
Birthplace of seven U.S. presidents
Thu, 19 Aug '21
Where I-70 meets I-71
Fri, 16 Jul '21
River past Louisville
Mon, 12 Jul '21
Home of Cincinnati
Fri, 9 Jul '21
Home of the Polka Hall of Fame and Pro Football Hall of Fame
Tue, 15 Jun '21
Reds state?
Thu, 10 Jun '21
River that starts in Pittsburgh
Fri, 16 Apr '21
Birthplace of 35-Across