A History of Short Words

From the New York Times Crossword Puzzle

ASK

Wed, 11 May '22
Name, as a price
Wed, 6 Apr '22
How best to determine consent
Thu, 6 Jan '22
Beseech
Fri, 24 Dec '21
"___ away!"
Tue, 14 Dec '21
Query
Sat, 20 Nov '21
Query
Tue, 16 Nov '21
"___ away!" ("Hit me!")
Thu, 19 Aug '21
Pose
Sun, 28 Mar '21
Request
Mon, 8 Feb '21
Question